published on 9 October 2020 in life

Nobel Prize 2020

On October 5, the week dedicated to the allocation of the Nobel Prize winners began. The committees in Sweden and Norway are currently nominating the winners in the various categories ranging from science, literature and economics to peace. So let us see who won the Nobel Prize 2020.

Nobel Prize 2020 for Medicine and Physiology

Winners: Dr. Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton and Charles M. Rice.

The prize was awarded to them for the discovery of the hepatitis C virus. The Nobel Committee revealed how this discovery made possible blood tests and new drugs that have saved millions of lives.

Nobel Prize 2020 for Physics

Winner: Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez.

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2020 was awarded to Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez for their studies on black holes and their implications in understanding the mechanisms that govern the Universe. Penrose has shown that black holes are a direct consequence of general relativity, elaborated by Albert Einstein. The other winners, Genzel and Ghez have shown instead that the object invisible to us and with an enormous mass that lies at the centre of our galaxy, the Milky Way, is a supermassive black hole.
Andrea Ghez is the fourth woman to receive the Nobel Prize for Physics, previously awarded to Marie Curie (1903), Maria Goeppert Mayer (1963) and Donna Strickland (2018).

Nobel Prize 2020 for Chemistry

Winner: Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna

The French biochemist Emmanuelle Charpentier and the American Jennifer A. Doudna were awarded the prize equally with the following motivation: “For the development of a method for genome editing”, their genetic scissors make it possible to modify the DNA and practice therapies that were once impossible. The two scientists have developed the genome editing system Crispr/Cas9 that makes it possible to modify pieces of genetic material with great precision, allowing the advancement of new therapies useful against tumours and cures for certain hereditary diseases.

Nobel Prize 2020 for Literature

Winner: Louise Glück

The commission awarded her the prize “for her unmistakable poetic voice that with its austere beauty makes individual existence universal”.

Today, the Nobel Peace Prize will be awarded and on Monday 12 October, the final day, the economic science prize is expected. Usually the Nobel prizes are presented to the recipients at a ceremony in Stockholm and Oslo in December: due to the pandemic several events were cancelled in favour of a digital ceremony with a distribution of the prizes by the various embassies present in the winners’ home countries.

Eni S.p.A. - P.IVA 00905811006