METEOSAT European satellites

The first European meteorological satellite was launched in November 1977, the first of the METEOSAT series. At present there are 4 European satellites in orbit: METEOSAT 8, 7, 6 and 5. METEOSAT 8 is the latest of the series and the most modern. It is positioned in geostationary orbit on the Gulf of Guinea, on the Greenwich meridian, and it enables observation of the European territory in the infrared band, the visible views and the water vapour, and it forwards images every 30 minutes. The METEOSAT satellites are connected to the GOES satellites and to the satellites in the Polar orbit, thus creating a worldwide monitoring system of the meteorological phenomena.
The European satellites are managed by EUMETSAT the European Agency for the management of meteorological satellites, and in Italy through Servizio Meteorologico dell’Aeronautica Militare the Military Aeronautics meteorology service.

Eni S.p.A. - P.IVA 00905811006